Nine Days of Mother Durga – Festival of Navratri

Today’s new moon brings Day 1 of the 9 day long festivity period ‘Navratri’. A festival dedicated to Goddess Durga, it is celebrated with immense devotion and passion across India.

Happy Navratri

In today’s post we share a brief overview of this festival.

  • Navratri is derived from the Sanskrit words “nava” which means nine and “ratri” which means night.
  • There are 4 types of Navratres celebrated in India:
    Types of Navratre
  • Shardiya Navratri is the most important Navratri and is hence called Maha Navratri (Great Navratri). It is also called as Sharad Navratri as it is celebrated at the beginning of winter (Sharad)
  • Sharad Navratri falls on the first day or Pratipada of the bright fortnight of the lunar month of Ashvin
  • During these nine nights and ten days, nine forms of Devi are worshiped
  • The tenth day is commonly referred to as Vijayadashami or “Dussehra

Within India, different regions have their own special style of celebrating the Navratre.
Starting tonight, we will share with you the significance of each day of Navratre along with the different regional flavors of this festival.

Till then, leaving you with one of the most loved Sanskrit verses for the Goddess

Sarva mangala mangalye shive sarvaartha saadhike
Sharanye trayambake Gauri Narayani namosthute

To auspiciousness of all auspiciousness, to the Good, to the accomplisher of all objectives, to the Source of Refuge, to the mother of the three worlds, to the Goddess who is Rays of Light, exposer of consciousness; We bow to you again and again.

Jai Mata Di 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s